President Kenyatta Reshuffles his Cabinet

GOK  |  11.24.15   By Politics Africa Staff

Cabinet Reshuffle

Politics Kenya

Following the resignation of embattled former Cabinet Secretary Anne Waiguru, it was largely expected that Uhuru Kenyatta would perform a cabinet reshuffle. He took to the podium about an hour ago to appoint new ministers, including replacements for the five Cabinet Secretarys implicated in corrupt activities by the EACC. He also announced additional state departments to be headed by principal secretaries for better service delivery.

As a result of the cabinet reshuffle, Kenya now has 20 ministries up from 19. The appointments are as follows: 

CS for Devolution and Planning – Mwangi Kiunjuri (Former Laikipia East MP)
Replacing Anne Waiguru

CS for Energy – Charles Keter (Former Kericho Senator)
Replacing Davis Chirchir

CS for Information, Communication and Technology (ICT) – Joe Mucheru (Former Country Manager Google Kenya)
Replacing Fred Matiang’i

CS for Education – Fred Matiang’i (Former ICT CS)
Replacing Jacob Kaimenyi

CS for Lands Ministry – Jacob Kaimenyi (Former Education CS)
Replacing former CS Charity Ngilu

CS for Agriculture – Willy Bett (Former Managing Director of Kenya Seed Company)
Replacing former CS Felix Koskei

CS for Mining – Dan Kazungu (MP for Malindi)
Replacing CS Najib Balala

CS for Tourism – Najib Balala
Replacing CS Phyllis Kandie

CS for Health – Cleophas Mailu M.D. (Former CEO of Nairobi Hospital)
Replacing CS James Macharia M.D.

CS for Transport and Infrastructure – James Macharia

Head of Public Service – Sicily Kariuki (Former PS for Agriculture)
Replacing Joseph Kinyua

CS for Labor and Social Services – Philis Kandie (Former CS for Tourism)
Replacing Former CS Kambi Kazungu

CS for Interior – Major Gen. (Rtd.) Joseph Nkaissery
Position Retained

CS for Defense – Rachel Omamo
Position Retained

CS for Foreign Affairs – Amina Mohamed
Position Retained

CS for Industrialization – Adan Mohamed
Position Retained

CS for Water and Irrigation – Eugene Wamalwa
Position Retained

CS for The Treasury – Henry Rotich
Position Retained

CS for Sports – Hassan Wario
Position Retained

CS for Environment – Judy Wakhungu
Position Retained

Other notable changes include:

PS for Foreign Affairs – Monica Juma (Former nominee for Secretary to the Cabinet)

PS for Interior – Karanja Kibicho (Former PS for Foreign Affairs)

Several other new Principal Secretaries were also announced.

That’s it for now. More on the reaction to these appointments soon.

More of Kenya’s war on Corruption at State House War on Corruption

    Share it

      No comments yet

      Be the first to respond.

      Leave a Reply